CEDAR CREEK SETTLEMENT, Wisconsin
N70 W6340 Bridge Road
Cedarburg, Wisconsin 53012
The source of Cedarburg's vigor from its birth as a village in 1845 was the power-producing creek that the Irish and German immigrants found. After building 5 dams and 5 mills, the life of the community flowed along the banks of Cedar Creek. The historic heart of Cedarburg contains a significant group of 19th- and early 20th-century buildings that embody the distinctive architectural styles and construction methods employed in the city from 1840's to the 1920's. The diversity of the types of buildings in the downtown historic district reflects the fact that this area has served as the center of Cedarburg's social, commercial, industrial, educational and religious activities. Despite that diversity, strong relationships exist between the buildings because of similarities in scale, style, materials and craftsmanship. Many are constructed of locally-quarried limestone or cream-colored brick. The most obvious bond between the buildings is that skillful masonry work which gives Cedarburg its special character. While many of the early builders and masons remain anonymous, the high quality of the historic buildings serves as an enduring tribute to their skills.
THE SETTLEMENT & STONE MILL'S STORY
In 1964, three rugged pioneers led by Diedrich Wittenberg built the stone mill to capitalize on the demand for wool products brought on by the Civil War. The building and dam were built entirely by hand from stones removed from the creek bed and nearby quarries and huge tamarack timbers cut from the extensive bogs that covered the area.
The rushing waters of Cedar Creek were channeled down a mill race and through an open-flume waterwheel. The 50 horsepower that the creek generated ran 21 looms and knitting machines, which converted the heavy Wisconsin wool into the best quality yarns, blankets and worsted flannels.
The mill had the first electricity in Cedarburg. In 1897 a water-powered generator was installed which provided electric power for the mill and the owners' nearby homes.
In 1971, Jim and Sandra Pape saved the boarded-up mill from the wrecking ball and a future as a parking lot. Realizing a dream, the two entrepreneurs combined their interests in historic preservation, winemaking, art, and antiques and renovated the mill into a working winery and a group of owner-operated shops and studios.
The 1864 mill and adjacent buildings on or near the corner of Washington and Bridge have become known as the Cedar Creek Settlement. Today, more than 25 restaurants, antique stores, gift shops, artists' studios, working winery, forge and potter's studio make up this Historical Village of Shops listed on the National Register of Historic Places.
OZAUKEE COUNTY PIONEER VILLAGE
This is a restoration village by the Ozaukee County Historical Society. The village includes authentic homes, barns, public buildings and museum. Open 12 noon to 5 p.m. Wednesdays, Saturdays and Sundays from Memorial weekend to Labor Day. (414) 284-2738
CEDARBURG MILL - 1885
Impressive 5-story mill overlooking Cedar Creek. Neo-Greco design. Built of native blue-grey limestone quarried on site. Renowned as one of the most distinctive in the Midwest. At peak capacity this mill produced 120 barrels of fine flour daily. Located off Washington Avenue, where Highway 57 crosses Cedar Creek.
HAMILTON HISTORIC DISTRICT
(formerly New Dublin)
Explore this early settlement, developed before Cedarburg, which was the area's community center before the railway located in Cedarburg.
RACE CAR MUSEUM - in Hamilton
Housed in Historic Turn Halle is a collection of antique race cars dating back to the early 1920's.
LIME KILNS, GRAFTON - 1846
Weathered remains of 3 huge lime kilns once used to process limestone for rail shipment via Milwaukee and Northern Railway. Situated in scenic Lime Kiln Park on the Milwaukee River. Picnic area and canoe launch.
COVERED BRIDGE, CEDARBURG - 1876
Believed to be the last in Wisconsin, this structure was built from 3' x 10' planks secured by hardwood pins. Located in a picturesque park setting. Picnic area. Take Washington Avenue 3 miles north of Cedarburg to the junction of Highways 60 and 143 and go to Covered Bridge Road.
CEDARBURG CULTURAL CENTER
Located in the heart of Cedarburg's downtown historic district just 3 blocks south of Cedar Creek Settlement, the Cedarburg Cultural center features permanent and temporary exhibitions exploring the community's history, heritage, and contemporary culture. Open Tuesday through Saturday from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m., and Sunday from 1 to 5 p.m.
Also check out the article on shopping in Cedarburg, which includes many shops carrying antiques and traditional handcrafting tools.|
Bed and Breakfast Inns